It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that reading as a hobby is much effective in developing linguistic as well as imaginative skills than watching television. I completely agree with that statement because of deficiency of visual images in a book which forces a reader to imagine and also due to the interaction with various languages, reading uplifts language ability of a person.

Any book is deficit of pictures, graphs and photos and this paradoxically allows the reader to be imaginative. Due to lack of sufficient graphic images, the reader is compelled to imagine the scenario of the content that he/she is reading unlike watching TV which does not allow time for the viewer to conceptualize as there are audio and visual on it. As a result, the reader becomes more creative. For example, a recent study by Oxford University revealed that more than 90% of the eminent artists were ardent reader.

The language skills of an individual get enhanced to a greater extent, particularly while reading. As the reader gets an opportunity to interact with various languages and their forms, it becomes much more effective to grab those languages since reading is an active process. For instance, a large number of autistic children were able to express themselves by writing after they were given time to read their favorite novels.

In conclusion, reading with passion is a very effective technique to boost imaginative as well as language ability. I strongly believe that people should be encouraged to read more number of books in order to develop these skills.