It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

How much freedom a child should be given and what sort of punishment could be used to control is a matter of concern. Too much freedom or less control can lead youngsters go astray while too much punishment makes child dull and less creative. I strongly believe that punishment should be a method to teach lesson and good values rather than physically hurting a child.

Childhood experiences and lessons have lasting impacts during course of life and that is why parents and teachers should try to teach good values and qualities. Children are more curious and less mature to distinguish between right or wrong. They often need to use certain punishment to teach a lesson and punishment should not be driven by personal anger or frustration. Physically beating a child is in no way should be used as there are far better ways of punishing a child to teach lessons.

Physical punishment is no longer used in developed countries where as it could still be found in under-developed countries. This form of punishment should not be used. Punishment is just the message against bad actions. Effective penalties could be not talking to child or not taking him to playground for a day or two. Similarly parents could refrain rewarding the child with a chocolate or toys reminding him why he does not deserve them. From my personal experience, I can say that I took it seriously when my father used to stop talking to me for something which he disliked about me and I vowed many times to myself not to do that again.

To conclude, punishment is necessary to teach children values, morality and help them distinguish between right and wrong. However punishment should not be physical rather psychological or practical.