A growing number of people feel that animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think that animals should be treated as humans are and they should have similar rights while others think that animals should be used for fulfilling human needs such as for food and research work.

With regard to exploitation of animals, people think that human beings are most important living beings on earth and every effort should be made to make life comfortable and ensure survival. Research on medicines for cure of diseases is done on animals and takes priority over animal suffering. Furthermore, it is believed that to meet nutritional needs in our meal, it is acceptable to kill animals.

On the other side, it has been seen that animals do have same sort of feelings as humans have. They also feel pain if they are caged for long time. A substantial amount of progress has been made in medical field and it is not necessary to perform tests for cure of diseases. Argument of killing animals for meeting nutritional needs is not adequate as most of vitamins and minerals are available in green vegetables and fruits and grains.

To sum up, although some people argue killing of animals for food and research work is ethical, there has been evidences which proves that it is not the case and efforts should be made to protect animal rights.