It is more important to have a good family than to have friends. Family can always compensate for absence of friendship.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Family has always been an indispensable part of our lives and no one can replace the family members with any other person. In my opinion, a good family can always fill up the place of a friendship. However, having good friends also plays a major role in one's life.

Primarily, a person inherits his character and disposition from his family. Presence of family members creates a wholesome atmosphere. A person feels more secure and supported in family. For example, if you are staying away from your family, you might need to handle various situations by yourself. Parents' love is unconditional and irreplaceable. After spending stressful and busy working hours, we need a solace which is possible if we live in a close knit family. Therefore, people having good family are considered to be very fortunate and it can be said that family takes precedence over friendship.

On the other hand, it is also undeniable that true friendship is necessary in life. Whenever we are in trouble, a family's support is always there. But in some situations, good friends can be more helpful. There are several issues which cannot be discussed with parents but can be freely shared with friends. For instance, for career problems we can not completely count on our family. Work related issues can be dealt with the help of friends or co-workers. This is the reason why friendship is absolutely important for us.

In conclusion, although good family can cover up for anything, but good friendship is also essential. People need support and love at every point of life. To survive in modern life, we should have a balanced relationship with both family and acquaintances.