It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in media.

Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime?

What solutions can you offer to deal with this situation?

Although one of the primary notion for increase in juvenile crime is the violence in media, there are other factors which contribute as well. This essay will discuss the influence of notorious media in encouraging underage offenders along with other factors, and propose possible solutions to curb this.

There are a plethora of elements that contribute to brutality of media such as crime sequences in movies and video games, which majority of the adolescents follow. This is because such children will not have the logical thinking capabilities, therefore, they do not identify the wrong actions, instead, they follow it as a trend. For example, the process of stealing a monument from a gift shop may appear interesting and teenagers try to replicate the same. To combat this problem, government should pass stricter regulations to restrict the content watched by pubescent. By virtue of this, we can reduce the influence and illegal acts among this age group.

Another cardinal cause of juvenile offenders, an important one is the lack of education and employment opportunities. Owing to the fact that backward communities and areas in many countries, offspring of parents from such backgrounds are not able to afford education, which leads to unemployment. For instance, it is reported in media that there is a substantial increase in crime rate among the age group of 16 to 22. To alleviate this problem, if there are more schools initiated by the government, then there will be families who can afford to get their young ones educated. As a result, there will be better sense prevailing among teenagers and it leads to involvement in petty jobs while reducing involvement in crime to earn money.

In conclusion, bad influence of media through films and computer crime games are vital reasons for increase in juvenile crime. However, this can be minimized by strict laws and improving education and work opportunities in geographically challenged areas.