It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

Volunteering has enormous benefits to family, young people and also the community.It helps in connecting with new people , learning new skills and advancing one's career. But on the flip side unpaid work has its own set of drawbacks like exploitation and doing unskilled jobs.

Volunteering helps youth and students in a multiple ways . Firstly, participation in social activities is a great way to meet new people , especially if one is new to a area . Interaction with new people helps in building our network which later can prove helpful as job referrals. Secondly, few students are shy and have a hard time mingling with people , but taking part in voluntary activities gives them a platform for interacting with various people which in turn helps them boost their confidence. Last but not the least working for unpaid internships helps students in gaining valuable work experience which increases their chance in finding jobs with less effort. For instance as per a survey conducted by monster.com a leading job portal 8 out of 10 employers prefered recruiting students with prior work experience as an intern over inexperienced candidates for entry level positions .

Not only youth, but society is also largely benefitted from such social activities . The most important thing is that the financial burden on the Government reduced to a large extent when people themselves come forward to help the community in need. For instance Red cross a World renowned non profit organization has taken the initiative in aiding the flood affected Indian state Orissa in October 2018 with free medical equipment , free water and food which largely helped the Orissa State Government in saving those expenses. In addition to this community service also makes people feel socially responsible towards the country and it's citizens.

Despite its benefits unpaid work and volunteering have a few drawbacks of their own. Firstly majority of the internships are unpaid that are not preferred by many students who are financially not well-off there by depriving them of a good opportunity and furthermore society also exploits youth in the name of volunteering and some companies just hire students in the name of internship for performing menial jobs which may not be a good value addition to the interns profile.

I hereby conclude that volunteering has many advantages over drawbacks and it proves a valuable asset in developing the personality traits of many people and also for job hunting. Even though a few minor setbacks are present they can be easily avoided with a proper planning and execution.