It's better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city.

What extent do you agree or disagree.

In this era of globalization more families are moving to metropolitan cities from the countryside in search of better jobs and education thus there is a raging debate where some say that it is better for children to grow up in the countryside and not in a big city. I agree with the later view and will elucidate my opinion with relevant examples.

Firstly there are a plethora of disadvantages associated with the growth of children in remote places the most preponderant being the lack of quality education and exposure as compared to cities. It is evident that the countryside areas have lack of infrastructure, poor quality of education and amenities like internet which make is a situation worse. In a recent survey done by Economic times around 80% of parents wanted their children to grow in cities due to lack of facilities and opportunities in the countryside.

On the other hand metropolitan cities in India like Delhi, Mumbai provides a better quality of education and amenities to children which acts as a vital factor at an adolescent age and thus prepares them for the future challenges. children in cities also get better sporting facilities and thus it can help in making a strong foundation for future endeavour. In a recent survey done by the government of India, there is a huge migration pattern especially for middle-class families living in remote villages to cities in search of better future and growth for their children.

Thus, in my opinion, considering both sides of this contentious argument, it is evident that cities offer better growth opportunities for children as compared to the countryside.