Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out.

In your opinion is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

It is argued whether English language should be made a compulsory subject because In many schools today, more emphasis are placed on English learning than on local languages, and this may lead to loss of such languages. In my opinion, I disagree that learning English should be a must in school as it may lead to culture and languages extinction. The following paragraphs will x-ray this issue and proffer a sound solution to it.

74words

To begin, foreign languages, especially English must not be made compulsory in school because it has no superior benefit than other local dialects. All over the world, many languages abound, such as Greek, Latin, Arabic, French, and this goes down to other small languages in our communities. None of this language can be said to supersede the others. In Saudi Arabia for instance, a study conducted by Economic Saudi institute showed that only one fifth of the country's population speak English, and that speaking English does not offer any employment security in the kingdom. Therefore, this to show that no language is more valuable than the other and no language should be “a must-learn” for all.

116 words

Secondly, all hands must be on deck to ensure that our local languages are preserved, and not suppressed by the foreign ones. The best solution to this would be to reverse this misconception about the low values placed on people’s language. This can be achieve by uniting stakeholders such as government and school authorities, to introduce system that would make teaching of local cultures and languages a compulsory subject in schools. This way, younger students Will be well informed about the values of their mother tongue and see that no language is superior to the other.

96 words

In conclusion, I opine that English language should not be made compulsory to learn in school because it offer no higher value than local languages, and something must be done to preserve our language and culture. Again, I suggest that local authorities in schools should improve the learning system to accord local language equal value like English. If this measure is put in place, a balance will be achieved in the future.