Levels of youth crime are increasing rapidly in most cities around the world. What are the reasons for this, and suggest some solutions.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words

A large number of cities in the world have witnessed increasing youth crime at an alarming rate. The essay will discuss firstly, financial hardship and lack of attention from parents are key reasons for this problem and then will suggest, support for families and caring family are the effective measures.

It is natural for kids to compare themselves with their friends, however, when they realize that their friends are richer and financially more stable than them, they start to look for wrong ways to bridge the gap. These kids initially start with petty crimes such as stealing to fulfill their daily expenses, but with the passage of time, they get involved in deeper and deeper into life of a crime. Another important reason is lack of attention of parents. Many parents are not aware of kid’s friends circle and social activities. According to The Times, teenage drinking problems are majorly found in nuclear families where child is not looked after well by parents.

The principal solution for the teenage crimes resulting from poverty is to provide support to the families. Community can step forward and share expenses of the education and food of the local underprivileged kids, these will reduce some of the financial burden from those families and might save a child from dropping out of school and going astray. Another solution to ensure children are on right path is to have caring family, it can be very advantageous in the overall development of children. It develops critical thinking and builds confidence, which ensures that kids are less likely to break the trust of their parents. For instance, a survey of high school students reported that 87% students did not involve in underage drinking because they had promised their parents.

In conclusion, youth crime is on the verge around the world, but it can be controlled with the help of strong family relationships and community support.