As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes.

Why does this happen?

How does this affect society?

Many countries around the world are becoming richer as they develop and at the same time these countries are seeing a reduction in the size of the family unit. This essay will discuss the reasons for this phenomenon and examine some of the possible effects it will have on society.

One of the principal reasons for the smaller family sizes is the rising immigration from rural towns to urban cities. As country develops, it creates more job opportunities in the major cities, which attracts aspiring young talent from small towns and villages to migrate in the city for work and business purposes. As a result of this, traditional joint family structure breaks out and old parents along with siblings are left in the village. Eventually, people start living in smaller families and it becomes a part of lifestyle. For example, the Times newspaper addressed the growing demand of smaller houses in many urban cities owing to smaller families.

The trend of smaller family units helps society to boost economy, as more people would want to live in their own houses, more houses would be built, and businesses depending on housing such as home appliances and banking industry will be benefited. However, children growing in these homes won’t have extended family members to look after them. This might make it difficult for parents to take care of kids when both are working, therefore, there would be many kinder gardens and nurseries to take care of kids. For example, Mumbai City Corporation declared that special subsidies will be given on lands if it is used to build large scale nurseries and primary schooling facilities.

In conclusion, developing nations have witnessed the change in joint family structures due to the immigration of people. This is positive development for the economy, whereas, negative for kids, as they would have to spend more time in nurseries instead of with their parents