As countries have developed there has been a trend towards smaller family sizes.

Why does this happen?

How does this affect society?

As states have grown up there has been a change in the increase of small families. This happens because of people traveling to cities to do their jobs and to enjoy a better life, as a result, there is a shortage of natural resources.

On the one hand, in the contemporary era citizens tend to move to well-developed counties from villages to do their duties. With this trend, grandparents are left alone in the countryside which dived big families into small families. In Addition, human beings attracted to a western lifestyle which decline by the grandparents, due to this disagreement elder people got married and they are separated into two families. For example, in India, elder men or women getting married at an early age and they are moving to metropolitan cities to enjoy their life.

On the other hand, fewer family members culture creating a shortage of house availability and over usage of natural resources in urban areas. The area available in cities for housing is less compared with a commercial building, as a result paying rent on flats increasing. Furthermore, in combined family, usage of electricity, gas, and water is less compare with multiple small families. For instance, a recent study conducted by The Times, a magazine in the U.K., proven that separating the families into smaller groups causing over usage of water and gas which is precious for humans life.

In conclusion, I reiterate that in well-developed nations the ratio of small families increasing. This happening due to elders moving to towns and counties to do their duties as a reflection it is impacting on excessive usage of natural resources.