Living a comfortable life in urban areas seems unrealistic nowadays. This essay intends to discuss two main problems, pollution and impure food, confronted by individuals of metropolitan cities and with governmental as well as people's efforts this situation can be ameliorated.

Pollution, be it air or noise, and the degraded quality of food are two major problems encountered by the citizens of metro cities. Burgeoning population and increasing number of factories have taken the pollution to next level which made life of citizens worst. For the sake of comfort and conveninent to commute to and from their working places, everyone tends to own a personal vehicle which not only contaminates air but also produce an excessive amount of noise pollution. Metter goes worst in the case of factories which are in abundance in developed cities and produce both air and noise pollutions enormously. Moreover, in order to satisfy demand of huge population, fast food is becoming prevalent in metro cities which is considered as malnutrition food to consume. New Delhi, India's well known metro city, is witnessed highly toxic air to breathe and poor quality of food to consume. Due to these, people of New Delhi are suffering from physical and mental disorders such as obesity, weaken memory, hearing loss in early age, weak eyesight.

With the aid of government as well as participation at individual level could be proved remedial for the situation. Government should encourage industrialists to build production houses in outskirts and instead of constructing big houses, multi-story buildings should be eracted to accommodate ever rising population. By installing the factories in outer areas, pollution can be restricted to enter in the city and huge space of houses can be saved. Locals should also opt public transport in their day-to-day affairs, instead of owning private vehicles, which will led them to save money and could possibly rein the environmental degradation. Las Vegas is a good paradigm for this where the local administration enacted the law of odd-even days for driving cars, societies containing multistory buildings are constructed, and every firm has to make their production plants in the outskirts. The quality of food should be inspected well before circulating it to the public. Also, for the sake of betterment of locals, those who mix food with harmful products for growing the amount of food, should be sent behind the bars.

In conclusion, it could be reiterated that ever increasing pollution and ill quality of food are two basic problems which further gives rise physical disorder among people of develope areas, I believe these can be mitigated by steps by government and initiatives by individuals themselves.