Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

many people believe that living overseas where they have to speak a foreign language can be the cause of some problems related to social and practical aspects. I agree that language barrier is always a big challenge for expatriates but going along with disadvantages, there are a lot of advantages when staying in a foreign country.

On one side of the argument, it is known that many social and practical problems may arise when people live in a country where they cannot speak their mother tongue. Their ideas might not be expressed correctly when they use a foreign language and this can lead to misunderstandings between them and their friends or their co-workers. In addition, each country has its own culture, in combination with miscommunication, people might feel hard to fit in a new environment. To cite an example, by not communicating effectively with their classmates and professors, international students might feel left behind and depressed, furthermore, it can lead to poor performance at school. Basically, that individual will not only face with social but also practical problems.

On the other hand, there are some benefits that foreign residents can gain by living overseas. Firstly, immersing themselves in a native speaking environment help them improve their language skills dramatically. it helps not only on daily conversation but also academic topics at school. Secondly, there is a research which pointed out that speaking another language can help sharp the way they think. Their mindset might change and their horizon might be widened when they speak and think in a foreign language.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that there are many hurdles when living in another country and speaking another language but there are also valuable benefits that expatriates can gain when living overseas.