Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the world of globalisation, people migrate to different nations either for studies or for a better job opportunity. The individual needs to understand the prevailing culture of that particular Nation in order to get settled in a better way. However, it is believed by some that getting involved in a new culture can bring social as well as practical problems for people who are migrating. In my opinion, people should keep learning new language and culture as it will solve their upcoming challenges rather increasing them.

Firstly, practical problems come when a person is not able to learn the new culture. Being, in a job or studies, it accompanies interacting with one another for different reasons. Although, everyone is aware of such issues still some shy away because they feel new county people can misunderstand them, leading to more problems. For instance, it has come in a study that 40% of practical problems have come for people who were not attempting to learn a new culture. Hence, this is questionable debate here, if a person encounters him or her in a dangerous situation and is not able to speak the native language then how can they save themselves? This leads us to believe that learning a new language is always beneficial.

On contrary, few argue with a belief that moving to a new place could bring social discrimination, where in, people are either racist or would disrespect a foreigner in their native country. This is certainly true but it is restricted to only for few numbers. On the larger scale, academic institutions and companies have set a high standard for disallowing any kind of racism or social discrimination. Illustrating, companies in Canada cannot discriminate between a non native and the native person. If they involve in this kind of practices, then they need to pay heavy consequences.

Concluding, person migrating to different country needs to be open to learning new culture thus Lessening the varied social and practical problems. I opine, learning and understanding a new language would surely benefit everyone moving in to a different country.