A lot of places rely on tourism as their main source of income unfortunately tourism can also be a source of problem if not managed correctly.

Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world

Do you think the benefits of tourism outweigh the drawbacks

Quite a number of places worldwide, derive the bulk of their income from tourism.Despite the fact that if not effectively managed, it could bring some disadvantages,as a whole, tourism is more beneficial.

On one hand, one of the drawbacks of tourism, is the effect it has on the country’s infrastructural facilities. Once a place is attractive to travelers, they visit in their numbers and this places a strain on the roads,electricity and water, originally suited for the locals. A study carried out by the SPC group in 2013 revealed that countries where visitors are more attracted to, had a higher cost of infrastructure maintenance.

One the other hand, tourism is the bane of a nation’s development, because it generates income for the government thereby, increasing the standard of living of the citizens. These tourists are made to pay fees and other monies for processing their travel, before they gain permission into the country .

Also, there is a high level of business activity which leads to higher revenue for the government by way of taxes and fees.

In addition, it generates employment for the citizens because new business will spring up to serve the needs of a wider variety of customers. A publication released by the New York Times in 2017, revealed that Dubai is fast becoming one of the richest economies in the world, with a high demand for labour, due to it’s increasing level of tourist activities.

To sum it up, the pros of tourism in terms of revenue generation and increase in the employment of its citizens , far outweigh the cons.