A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not well-managed.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world?

Unquestionably, tourism is in of the most prevailing source of income all over the world. Many countries' economy depends on tourism income. This essay will discuss not only the tourism benefits but also its drawbacks.

Undoubtedly, tourism impacts strongly on the economy because firstly, it provides many job opportunities such as tour guides, hotel staff, and airport staff for serving all the tourists. Secondly, it affects the money exchange industry since many tourists with different currencies will exchange their money to the local currency.

Despite these advantages of tourism, the drawbacks cannot be denied. As soon as the country depends dramatically on the tourism income, it may be shadowed all of a sudden due to uncontrolled events happened locally or globally, for example, the pandemic we face in 2020. All these countries, which are influenced hugely by the pandemic, lost too much money as there was no tourism in this period and the airports were closed. Another disadvantage of tourism is that its implications on the local language and culture as when there are many tourists with various languages and cultures dealing with the public, this will affect the language over time.

In conclusion, Tourism is a double-edged weapon. In other words, it has positive aspects and negative ones, so every country that has a strong tourism industry should avoid its drawbacks to get its ample benefits.