An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving

their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does

this cause? What solutions can you suggest in dealing with this situation?

Nowadays, more professionals from developing countries are choosing to live and work in richer ones. This migration will lead to problems such as skills shortage and economic stagnation. Increasing the salary scale and offering better living standards to skilled people are the only ways to retain talents.

One of the major issues caused by such brain-drain is a shortage of skilled professionals which makes it difficult for poor nations to achieve economic development and improve the quality of life. Due to the lack of these types of experts such as doctors and teachers, the citizens struggle to get basic facilities such as medicine and education. In addition to this, these states depend on foreign technical aid which costs them billions of dollars and further aggravates their economic instability issues. To illustrate, in 2011 the economy of Venezuela almost collapsed due to their huge spending to get foreign technical aid.

One of the reasons professionals leave their country is to get better salaries and benefits. So, the government can offer more excellent compensation along with incentives to skilled people to entice them to stay and work in their homeland. By doing so, they will have the will to give more to their country. Another possible solution is to improve the standard of living, as every professional look for a suitable life. The government can spend its budget to improve the quality of life for the citizens by borrowing funds from external banks. For example, Bangladesh took a long-term loan from the World Bank in 2010 to improve its education and medical facilities.

In conclusion, they are leaving their native homes because they do not have adequate opportunities there. Unfortunately, this migration hurts the development of their motherland, and to stop this, the livelihood and the living conditions should be enhanced.