The main purpose of public libraries is to provide books, and they should not waste their limited resources and space on providing expensive hi-tech media such as computer software, videos and DVDs.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The libraries are the repositories of never-ending knowledge. The public libraries should only focus in lending books to people rather than squandering their cost a limited resource in providing hi-tech media such as computer software’s, DVDs and CDs. In my opinion, I strongly agree that libraries should include latest technological means of providing knowledge

The installation of technology is very expensive and the traditional libraries cannot afford such huge investment on the same. Moreover, libraries are meant to provide the ambience and surrounding that motivate people to read books and gain knowledge, with the availability of videos and audios will distract the mind of people and the overall objective of the library will be lost.

Despite of some of the few negatives attached to having the latest technology in libraries, the idea that they are useless and do no provide knowledge is completely preposterous as CDs and DVDs do not occupy much of shelf space than the books. The use of latest media applications like computer software and and documentaries will help people to gain the understanding about the various aspects with the use of videos and pictures, and there is a justified verbalisation that people tend to remember the videos and images for a longer period of time rather than mugging up the content from books. Furthermore, individuals can read novels and books on laptops and computers at the comfort of their home or while travelling and will not be required to carry heavy books. To elucidate, CDs and DVDs with cartoon videos and songs for children will help them to gain better understanding which they will remember for their entire life

To conclude, I vehemently agree that the libraries should enable them with advanced technology and media applications as this will increase their significance and needs in the society.