People are living the golden age of technology. Therefore, they believe that keeping public libraries open is a total waste of money and changing to use computer is a much better option. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea although it is true that technology has improved significantly.

On the one hand, computers have their own ups and downs. It is undeniable that using a computer or tablet to read books is simpler and more convenient than going to a library. For example, people can find most books online which are also available to read after just a few clicks, regardless to any devices they possess such as Macbook, Amazon Kindle Fire or just regular laptops. Furthermore, when the device is malfunctioned, people may find it very annoying to use. For instance, the users cannot have access to information when internet breaks down or their laptops’ batteries die. So, despite computers offer many advantages, they still cannot fully replace public library.

On the other hand, traditional libraries are still important for individuals. Firstly, these libraries offer a quiet and peaceful atmosphere for books lovers. It is true that people can go to a coffee shop to learn or read book instead but readers will find some annoying noises. But, in the libraries, there are always rules to make complete silence which also make perfect environment for reading books. Secondly, not all individuals are capable to own new devices, even when they can afford good functional computers, they still need to go to the library for the absolute silence. Therefore, maintaining public library is definitely not a waste of money.

In conclusion, I believe public libraries are still essential for people in this computer technology century.