Some people think that an advertisement on TV is useless and others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether television advertising has little impact on viewers or it does catch their attention. I believe TV commercials are absolutely futile.

It is understandable why people say that advertising on TV would raise viewers’ brand awareness. One reason is that, along with the Internet, television shows attract a great number of population which means it is a potential environment to promote a product nationwide. Since there are many viewers watching at one time, companies believe that their commercials could capture more attention and thus, seal more customers and increase their sales.

However, pushing more advertisements on television not only seems to be useless but also has an adverse effect on product sales. One reason to support my standpoint on this matter is that, nowadays, people only care about the content that they are watching. Viewers tend to not pay any attention to any adverts that pop up in the middle of their favorite TV series or entertainment game show. In Vietnam, for example, if there is any break time for advertisements on television, individuals will turn to another channel or just have a small talk with others. A commercial, therefore, cannot accomplish its job. Moreover, surveys show that more and more people abominate advertisements for interrupting their relaxing time. Being continuously irritated, customers memorize the brand name to avoid buying, which is a common method of viewers to retaliate companies that abuse adverts.

In conclusion, I assert that any advertising on television in this day and age will not benefit the sales of products. If people want to purchase any merchandise, they will do so without the annoying advertisements.