Many cities are replacing cars with bicycles. What are the reasons for this? Which do you think is better?

As numerous nations around the globe struggle to promote wellbeing, many cities are promoting the use of bicycle instead of cars for the same reason. This shift from four wheelers towards two-wheelers is a noteworthy step as not only it can effectively elevate people’s health but also serves as a great aid in order to protect the environment.

Opting for bicycles in place of cars has health as well as environmental benefits. Firstly, since a rider has to use their physical strength to ride a cycle, they are going to burn calories eventually becoming mentally and physically sound. Japan, for instance, has a long tradition of using bicycles for short distances. Owing to this, finding a morbidly obese person in Japan is extremely difficult. Secondly, cycles do not produce any poisonous gases as cars do, so choosing to ride them would certainly help the worsening of our environment to heal on its own. Denmark, for example, has a better air quality index compared to other nations. This quality comes through the fact that the nation has cycle paths all over the nation and people are encouraged to use them as well. Thus, bicycles can ameliorate our health as well as exacerbating environmental conditions.

Analysing the benefits which cycling can potentially bring, certainly riding bicycles is a superior alternative instead of driving cars. In today’s sedentary lifestyle, most of the people find it hard to stay fit, so if cycling can bring them good health along with pollution-free air to breathe every day, it is judicious to persuade everyone to replace driving with cycling due to its far-reaching effects.