Some people think that young people should follow the traditions of their society, and other think young people should be free to behave as they will. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this era of globalisation, traditional values bring a sense of distinctiveness to nations around the globe due to their originality. Whereas numerous people are inclined towards the idea of youth must abide by customs and traditions, others, however, refuse this and believe in behavioural freedom. This essay will discuss both the viewpoints and will argue why youngsters should be left alone to make the right decision for themselves.

Proponents of traditional values may argue that such values have a logical reason behind them which should be followed by young people as well for their wellbeing. Indians, for instance, revere basil plants since ages and refer to it as a divine plant that should be protected at all costs. When a person looks at the medicinal values of the basil plant, it is crystal clear why preserving it is indispensable. Therefore, most of the customs and rituals have a deeper meaning instead of being rudimentary in nature at first, and youngsters should respect and follow these practices for the welfare of society.

On the other hand, I and many other people feel that imposing rituals and practices on the young generation would make them rebellious against them. Apparently, if society imposes certain customs on these young minds, they are potentially going to develop immunity towards them simply because most of the youth do not like to take directions straightway without exploring the path themselves. Hence, it is utmost important that the young generation should be given the freedom to reason the traditional values, analyse them and then decide to either welcome or reject them. Japan, for example, do not persuade its citizens to follow some rigid practices. Despite this freedom, the majority of Japanese stick to their values because they feel it is right to do so. Therefore, behavioural freedom is superior to forcing someone to follow some beliefs.

In conclusion, forcing traditional values would never be a potent way to preserve a country’s traditional heritage. Unless the young generation is given independence to make up their mind without any strain these traditional values might face rejection which would possibly make them redundant in the long run.