In many cities, security measures, such as the use of video cameras in public

places, are being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe

that these measures restrict our individual freedom.

Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Certain individuals in various cities assert that cameras installed for the purpose of security lead to the compromise of ones freedom. If asked, I strongly opine that the problems emerged from such thinking would be more as compared to any benefit it might bring.

To begin with, the foremost negative aspect of this behavior is increase in crime rate.With the attitude of reducing cameras in places like parks and shopping malls, the chances of robbery will be increasing. For example, as per the Ahmedabad city police high resolution cameras installed on the gates of Law garden has made a reduction of crime by 50% not only inside the garden but also at the nearby area.

In addition, it will also lead to rise in the number of accidents on the road. Since the data accumulated by the videography on various cross-road would not be available, the accident pattern might not be studied. Therefore the risk of accidents would be high on the roads. Hence, eluding the usage of cameras for the shake of loss of freedom can be detrimental.

However, government could save some amount of grant by such belief. If the citizens do not permits the usage of cameras, the authorities does not require to spend on it’s purchasing and installing. Along with this the maintenance cost could be also abolished. This saving either can be used for road development or for refurbishment of drainage for betterment of society.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that increase in offensive activities and cases of accidents because of humans thought of loosing of ones autonomy by fixing of cameras on the places of public outweigh the positive aspect of saving of money.