It’s recently argued that etablish modern building requires historical building to taken down for estate replaning purposes, due to the shortage of land for development. As a result, this situation leads to serveral drawbacks which will hamper the intended benefits. This essay will explain why.

On one hand, Demolition of old buildings can have a detrimental impact on the residential area nearby. The explanation for this is that the dust come from the building destruction is responsible for the increasing rate of air pollution. To be more particular, tiny molecules could easily go to the atmosphere, thus contaminate the air near the construction area. Consequently, the residents who live nearby will face lung-related diseases, such as breathing disorders, tuberculosis,..etc. Not only the dwellers, but the workers will possibly face the same pitfall. In addition, the deafening noise of the construction progress will be bothersome for the people who live there, as their daily life will be disturbed in a certain amount of time. As a result, the environment and the life quality will be gradually exacerbated.

On the other hand, Demolishing these structures can make way for more functional and efficient buildings that better meet the needs of modern users. The advocators of the replacement for modern structures mention that, with the establishment of new building, the life standard of the whole area will be enhanced, and the value of the land will be increased. For instance, the change of the purpose in agricultural lands to set up shopping malls in Vietnam has brought the convenience for the society. As a result, this will contribute to the country’s economy.

In a nutshell, despite the benefit of setting up new building, the demolition of historical building may cause severe disadvantages for our living condition and our environment