In many cities, there is a lack of space to develop and as a result, in order to modernize, old buildings are demolished and replaced with new buildings. What are the disadvantages of knocking down old buildings? Do advantages out-weigh disadvantages?

With the aim of developing, modernizing and resolving space shortage problem, many cities knock down former constructions and alter with the modern ones. It is believed that demolishing old buildings has its own advantages and disadvantages, but I think the plus point outweigh the minus point.

On the one hand, it can be said that pulling down old buildings to construct news buildings has some noteworthy drawbacks. Firstly, there is a negative impact on environment and also people’s lives. It is because the areas near those building sites will be affected by the construction dust. Hence, air pollution will rise and people will suffer from respiratory problem. Secondly, to ensure the safety for the workforce building sites are widened, as a result parts of roads will be occupied. Consequently, this will lead to traffic jam and rise the pressure on traffic.

On the other hand, despite the aforementioned downsides, there are some upsides should be taken into consideration. The main advantage is that there would be a solution to the shortage of spaces. With the growth of construction industry, we can build up much higher buildings with more floors. As a result, demand for space will decrease, which will resolve booming population and also help develop many others aspects. Another benefit is that new buildings will help reduce the occurrence rate of breakdowns. It is due to the fact that such buildings are equipped with modern appliances and facilities such as automatic fire alarm, sprinkle system, etc. so that people can conveniently get rid of emergency situations and handle small problems.

In conclusion, although demolishing old buildings to replace with the new ones may bring some downsides that negatively affect to our lives, the upsides are positively efficiency for long-running development. In my opinion, there should be solutions to the drawbacks such as building net around the sites to avoid dust and so on.