It has been recently argued that constructing modern buildings requires historical buildings to be taken down for urban redevelopment purposes due to the shortage of land for development. As a result, this situation has several drawbacks that will hamper the intended benefits. This essay will explain why.

On one hand, demolition of old buildings can have a detrimental impact on the residential area nearby. This is because the dust from the building destruction is responsible for the increased level of air pollution. To be more particular, small particles could easily go into the atmosphere, thus contaminating the air near the construction area. Consequently, the residents who live nearby will face lung-related diseases, such as respiratory disorders, tuberculosis,... Not only the dwellers, but the workers may also experience the identical problem. In addition, the deafening noise of the construction progress will be bothersome for the people who live there, as their daily lives will be disturbed for a certain amount of time. As a result, the environment and the quality of life will gradually deteriorate.

On the other hand, demolishing these structures can make way for more functional and efficient buildings that better meet the needs of modern users. To be more precise, The proponents of the replacing of old structures with modern ones mention that, with the establishment of new buildings, the living standard of the whole area will be enhanced, and the value of the land will increase. For instance, the change of purpose in agricultural lands to set up shopping malls in Vietnam has brought convenience to the society. As a result, this will contribute to the country’s economy. However, I do believe that the progress the building construction inhibit is far more serious than the ads of new building .

In a nutshell, despite the benefit of setting up new buildings, the demolition of historical buildings may cause significant drawbacks for our living conditions and our environment.