In many cities the use of video cameras in public place is being increased inorder to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweighs the drawbacks.

Many cities and public places are under the camera surveillance these days. Few people argue that, this will reduce the crime rate to a greater extend whereas others believe that these measures restrain individual freedom of people. In this essay, I intend to prove that the merits of these security measures are more than its demerits.

Firstly, the use of video cameras reduce the chance of theft, corruption and other evil activities. To be precise, every action and conversation of the people in a public place is closely monitored. This could generate a feeling that, if they commit any crimes or illegal activities they are likely to be caught by the police. For this reason , the banks and ATMs are under the camera surveillance to avoid any sort of malpractices. Hence, it is clear that the use of video cameras at public places can avoid the misconduct to a great extend.

Furthermore, in certain circumstances, the video clips can be used as an important evidence to bring the culprits in front of the law. That is , the police department usually rely on these video clipings to collect adequate evidence for any criminal or illegal activities at public places. For example, a recent survey conducted by ' India today' magazine for an article on crimal records reveals that the police department lean on public cameras to collect more than 60% of proof in relation with a crime or theft. Thus, the use of video cameras at public places is helpful to bring the culprits in front of law.

However, the use of video cameras at public places restrict the individual freedom of people. The constant surveillance in cities make people feel disturbed and generates a feel like people are not trustworthy which is never a good dynamic as it questions the basic human right of freedom.

To conclude, it is evident to speak that, the installation of video cameras in public place has got more pons than its cons as it increases the safety and security in any public region. In addition to that, it is helpful for the offices to do their duites.