In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples. 7.5

In these modern times, it has typically become a worldwide trend for youths to willingly leave their parent’s house for further studies or a job. Experiencing an independent life or sharing a private apartment with a friend has typically become standard practice. In my opinion, staying away from one’s home represent a negative development, which will be discussed further in the underlying paragraphs.

In the first place, undoubtedly living alone has adverse effects on an individual's personal lifestyle. After completing school, most of them opt to work in accomplishing their financial needs, leading them to live away from their folks. People staying away from the warmth of human companionship, tend to become more rigid and suffer emotional distress at times. For instance, a study conducted by the Youth humanity foundation, Vadodara it is clear that the number of suicide rates has increased in young people recently. Furthermore, the study confirms the reason behind this trend is loneliness and depression.

Secondly, when children leave their house, it changes the lives of parents too and eventually impacting society. This social distancing between parents and their children results in a deeply fragmented society. Also, the number of humans living alone increases the cases of depression, Blood pressure, diabetes. For example, deaths due to heart diseases have reached peak levels owing to this lifestyle.

In conclusion, staying away from parents and seeking a job or pursing a higher education is detrimental to an individual as well as society. In my opinion, the decision to leave their progenitors home merely to approach a good future prospect is a negative development.