In many countries, children are engaged in some kind of paid work. Some people regarded it as completely wrong while others consider it as a valuable work experience.

To what extend do you agree or disagree.

People have a different view on child labour. Some people think it is a valuable experience for children to prepare for a competitive world. Personally, I believe children should not drag to work it imposes a detrimental effect on society and individuals.

Having children engaged in paid work cause an adverse effect on society. Paid employment interferences schooling by deprived children of the opportunity to attend school. A Statistics by UNICEF show that half of the children engaged in paid work leave school at an early stage. The low literacy rate makes early school leavers are less likely than their more-educated counterparts to secure stable jobs. In long-term, under accumulation of human capital caused by low literacy rate, representing a missed opportunity to enhance productivity and future earnings of the next generation; their offspring, as a result, will be compelled to work to supplement the family’s income. In this way, poverty and child labour passed from generation to generation

Child labour causes a harmful effect on children physically and physiologically. Studies show that children working in factories and mines operate machinery, use chemicals, and are exposed to high or very cold temperatures, which ultimately endangers their lives. Statistics by UNICEF shows that the victims of occupational accidents aged between 11-14 twice as often as they are adults. The lack of personal experience and physical maturity puts their lives in dangers. Apart from adverse physical effect, child labourers are also experience different behavioural problems, such as using obscene words, exhibiting high emotions with low creativity and relying on excess use of cigarettes and alcohol.

In conclusion, child labour imposes harm to the community and individuals. The government should do all necessary actions to eradicate children engaged in paid employment.