In many countries day by day rubbish (garbage) is increasing.

Why is it happening?

What can be done?

The amount of rubbish produced by an average household has increased dramatically over the last few decades. This trend is mainly due to consumption and abundance of plastic. However, there is a range of measures that would be implemented to solve this issue.

One of the reasons for an escalation in the amount of garbage is an improvement in living standards. People believe in use and throw trend, therefore, they discard products after its minimal use. For an instance, earlier people used to cook food with ingredients they sourced from their backyard. Now they buy packed food from supermarkets which creates a myriad of plastics waste through its packaging. Unfortunately, plastic is non-biodegradable and it takes millions of years to decompose into the soil. Eventually, soil fertility decreases and it also gives rise to several health problems. Due to the cheap availability of plastics, most of the manufacturers used it for packaging of the goods. Thus, it is a significant source of increasing garbage.

However, there are a number of ways to tackle the problem of increasing junk. Firstly, the government should prohibit the use of plastics and polythene. Hefty fines should impose on the shops that offer plastic carry bags. Lastly, public awareness campaigns must promote explaining the concept of 3Rs which Reduce, Reuse, and Recycle. It is also salient to sensitize people about responsible consumptions of goods instead of disposing of it directly.

To conclude, lack of plastics consciousness and not confining non-biodegradable materials leads to a rise in the amount of garbage. Only when the government will make strict rules and society ensure to adopt them, will this situation be remedied.