In many countries, the government prohibits underage children from getting full-time jobs. Is it a

good thing or bad thing?

Child labour has become one of the concerning issues for many governments all over the world, hence stopping children from obtaining permanent job is the first initiative by various nations. However, I believe this can be considered as a positive development, owing to this, offspring can not only spend their childhood with friends and family but also educate appropriately before joining any type of job.

To commence with, acquiring a full-time work since early age affects the education of a child, which should be the first priority. In other words, children are the next generation of our country; if they could not furnished with proper education, whole country will suffer with bad conditions. Otherwise, increment in illiteracy rate leads to mor crime to earn money. To cite an example, in Kerala, the literacy rate is 98%, hence since then there are minimal crime cases and children and the society both can live their quality of life. Therefore, educating next generation might bestow the nation with brighter future.

Furthermore, instead of enjoying childhood with family and friends, children are beginning to make money. Because of this, pupils are ruining their life as well as health. Simply put, sometimes to get money, they choose any type of work including labour job, which has repercussions on their health. Moreover, mostly jobs not only gives depression and stress to a child but also delays their development due to dangerous working conditions and from taking on physical tasks, which exceed their capacities. For example, they are exposed to harmful chemicals, leading to other serious health and mental illness later in their lives. Thus, this should be prohibited by the authorities, as it is beneficial of children.

To conclude, child labour is serious threat to the society’s growth. By removing this, government saves the nation as well as the young generation.