In many countries, the level of crime is increasing and crimes are becoming more violent. Why do you think this is and what can be done about it.

It is argued that the increasing crime rate both in size and sophisticated tricks is becoming a serious concern in many areas of the world. This essay will discuss some primary reasons why this is happening and put forward several solutions for this issue.

There are numerous causes why level of crime is becoming more frightening and I believe that the widen gap between the rich and the poor is the first culprit. There is a large number of the poor either cannot meet their basic needs such as food and accommodation or have difficulty finding a good job. They tend to be at all cost to make a living, not only to pay living expenses but also desire to experience life as the rich. What the worse, many people are lured to perpetrate crimes in hope of achieving instant wealth by sophisticated tricks and brutal actions. This could pose a serious threat to the safety and stability of societies. One good illustration for this is that some criminals would like to kidnap children from rich families to get amounts of ransom. Another reason is the laws introduced are insufficiently strict to act as a deterrent in terms of preventing people committing crimes. Punishments and sanctions of these laws are probably inadequate harsh in comparison to consequences caused by offenders. Thus, there is no significant deterrent effect to people having evil intent or reckless actions.

There are various measures that could be implemented to tackle this problem. Firstly, it is necessary for governments to narrow income inequality. Economically speaking, creating employment for people without levels of education such as manual jobs is not only contribution to reducing rate of unemployment, improve citizens’ standard of living, but also developing national economy. Secondly, stricter punishments should be imposed for intentional crimes, recidivism or serious crimes which put communities at high risk of danger such as capital punishment or life imprisonment. This may helps to encourage law-abiding citizens.

In conclusion, there are various reasons leading to high level of crime and steps need to be taken to address this issue