In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

The world is leading towards digitalization. The development in computer science has changed the way of payment from cash to cashless. There are multiple mobile applications available in play store by which you can pay for any item just by scanning the payment barcode. I believe there are more advantages than disadvantages of this technology.

Nowadays, the mobile applications become a regular part of life and has many advantages. Firstly, these are secure with personal UPI IDs and asks for the authentication of the user by scanning fingerprint or using personal pin. For example, there is Paytm, Phone-pe and Google-pay apps which are very secured and authenticated. Secondly, these apps are providing few offers to provide benefit to a user in form of cashback or some discount voucher for a particular payment. Lastly, the use of these applications is increased because this has cut down the use of heavy cash, and moreover one can transfer a big amount just in seconds.

There is also a downside of this technology. Using such mobile applications need a good understanding of the technology which is very difficult for someone of old age. If someone loses their mobile phone or if it gets steal, there are chances of misuse of these apps. Even there are many malicious files or viruses which can breach the security of these applications and can share the bank details with some hackers. These applications timely update their versions for security purpose, so it is necessary to use the latest version while paying to avoid any kind of unauthorized transaction.

To conclude, this technology has made the life easy and smooth. However, the proper knowledge of using these mobile applications is necessary to avoid any kind of risk.