In many countries, people are spending more time in their workplace.

Why is this?

Is this a negative or positive development?

In this competitive decade, people engaging themselves in work for a longer period of time these days. This chiefly due to the evolving nature of human beings in the 21st century and it is not a positive change according to me.

Today, the younger generation faces financial deficiency due to the minimum wages. Therefore, people are avoiding traditional 9 to 5 job, instead of they prefer to work 10 hours daily to fulfill their requirements. In past, the majority of the people were unable to purchase basic amenities from their salary. Additionally, the plunging ratio of salary and expenses forced individuals to become workaholic. Hence, living expenses are hiked with increasing years compared to their compensation. For example, according to the report of Times of India, daily tariff surged by 10 times, as average livelihood stable on the same level in the last 5 years in India.

However, spending excessive time in the workplace has too many downsides. First and foremost, it induces mental or physical health problems depending on the workplace. IT job-related employees suffering from stress and anxiety, on the flip side, physical activities cause chronic organ damage. Moreover, spending less time with their family is a critical problem in the fast pace of life. A person forgets about the personal balanced life in the crave of earning more incentives. Ultimately, its reasons for the break of personal relationships in such cases.

In conclusion, many people work too much to get high remuneration as they can support their family’s financial needs. Although, Personal balanced life and health issues are enough reasons to cut their working hours and live happily with a family.