In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food from other regions more than local food. As a result, much of the food has to come from other regions. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

People like to explore new tastes especially the youngsters, and eating “foreign” food becomes a new trend in many countries. Consequently, imported food occupies a significant portion of total nutrition. This phenomenon sparks society’s concern about its pros and cons. I personally believe the benefits of people eating regional food outweigh the loss incurred.

It is true that local food usually is fresher than regional food because of the less time of transportation. Importing food from other countries might take a few days while local food could be delivered to a household in a day. The food suppliers sometimes apply chemical additive to conservative its freshness. In addition, eating regional food usually means higher cost because of the additional transportation fees. The prices of the food can be a big difference between made in locally and overseas.

On the flip side, regional food provides the local community with a wider variety of nutrition. Geographic as the vital factor that limits the countries production of specified food. Singapore, an island country, needs to importing food globally due to its insufficient farmlands. People are able to taste more species of food by worldwide food trade. Exporting food could also provide inland regions with more wealth. Some inland regions due to its geographical limitation are far behind developed than megacities. Farmers earn money from farming and food export.

To conclude, eating regional food makes people more choices of nutrition and bring farmers more business while chemical applied to food might be a risk to people’s health. However, the government could take more stringent measures to ensure food is healthy.