In many countries the problem of drug-taking is increasing. Governments and the general public are particularly concerned about young people using illegal drugs such as marijuana, ecstasy and heroin.

What methods could be used to prevent young people from taking drugs? Is it appropriate to send young drug-users to prison?

The intake of illegal drugs such as marijuana, ecstasy and heroin has so alarmingly soared in several nations that, the political authorities and other masses, who are specifically bothered for their youngers, who have fallen prey to this, can not escape the thought of them going astray. Fortunately, there are some steps which can be taken to keep drugs away from the young ones and sending them to penitentiaries would not be a good idea.

Beginning with such methods, I would say that an individual can decide to take such drugs in particularly two cases, either he is dealing with a lot of stress in his life or he wants to do an adventure as other of his age experience or enjoy. He might not find drugs as the solution to stress, if he has met with awareness about the heinous consequences that take place as after-effects of consumption of such highly inappropriate consumables. Moreover, if he is properly guided by his guardians, that there are many other ways of having fun and experiencing thrill, along with this, if he is taught to be decisive while choosing what is wrong and should be avoided at any cost, then that individual would stay away from these health-destructing drugs. Apart from this, the easy availability of these drugs also makes it less difficult for them to get it which can be altered if the situation faces reversal.

Talking about jails, I would say that such places are home to those who are not fit to set free in the innocent society due to their ill-mindset. When and if young drug-takers are placed among them, the influence is bound to infect them with malicious thinking and devastate their immature innocence. What is more, once their name enters the criminal recoreds, the stains of this action remain stagnantly on their profiles and it may severely hinder their career prospects. They should not be made to undergo such a big turmoil. Intsead, they should be relieved of such habits with the help of professionals who work in this domain.

To conclude, it can be said that undeniably, this is a big issue, however, not as big as incurable. With proper preventive measures, count of drug-takers can be reduced to nil. Also, prison is not a solution to this, it can be very harmful for them.