Schools concentrate far too much on traditional subjects which do not adequately prepare students for the realistic demands of the modern working world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Schooling plays a vital role in the life of children. It prepares them for their bright future. However, some people think that the subjects which are traditionally taught in schools with a lot of emphasis do not make students prepared enough to fulfill the demands of the working world in this modernized era. I agree to this without any doubt and would like to discuss it further.

To begin with, today’s world is majorly technology oriented. Computers are taking over almost everything that humans used to do manually before. What I mean to say here is that almost every common thing that people do or use these days has artificial intelligence which is programmed to take the decisions without human intervention. Therefore, children need to be familiar with such subjects which can make their brains think innovatively and logically. There are so many programming languages like C++, Java, Python etcetera, which are being used intensively these days to program things like a microwave over, a smart television and so on. As a matter of fact, such languages are not difficult to grasp and even the kids learning subjects of ninth standard can become proficient in them.

Moving further, if I talk about the subjects which are taught like Science, Maths, English and many more, these subjects are although necessary but do not have a lot of significance in the working life. To exemplify, consider the professions which are lucrative these days like a software developer or a web designer. People in these fields are earning a lot and do they apply the laws of physics or do they use the chemical reactions or do they need to know about the battles fought by their ancestors, to make their product? Definitely no. Despite knowing the trends of the industry, there are very few schools which are preparing their pupils to at least become competitive in the world and successful later.

To conclude, I would say that schools should focus on those subjects which can give their students a place to stand the cut-throat competition in this contemporary age and not those subjects which are not even going to be remembered by them in future.