In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some say that increase in population of geriatric people in many nations is beneficial, while others think that it is a trouble for the country. While older population can share their experiences with the younger generations, I believe that it can result in a major decrease in the workforce.

On the one hand, rise in number of older generation can help the nation as these people can share their invaluable life experiences with the younger populations. This is because they have lived through those situations and can better explain them and can provide knowledge about dealing with it. For example, an old ship repairer charged the ship owner 100% more money than the regular price and on asking why did he charged so high, he politely replied that it is because he exactly knew where he had to punch the nail. However, I do not agree with this as the knowledge can be gained from books and other resources given that experienced people have shared that.

On the other hand, more older people means increase in the rate of mortality and this would lead to decrease in the eligible people to work. As more and more older people die this would result in a drop in population and companies will have less people to hire. For example, in Germany, about 80% of population is above the age of 70 years and it is predicted that in 5 years the government will have to take serious steps to promote rise in population by either giving monetary benefits for reproducing or by welcoming immigrants.

In conclusion, more older people in a nation means more skills but I firmly believe that it can lead to reduction in staff for companies.