In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

World's population is increasing in large proportion. Age group and demographics have been changing with time. In many countries, there have been number of people, who are becoming part of senior citizen's club. Few believe it to be good thing, as life expectation is increasing; while on the other hand, few believe it to be a burden on economic activity of the country.

There has been increase in number of older people in developed countries. This is due to health facilities and quality of food they intake. There are people who believe, increasing number of older people is a good sign, as elder people are highly experienced and can guide people through severe times. Moreover, they are well aware of the changes which occur on numerous occasions. Therefore, they can help young people and motivate them. They are believed to be an asset for any country.

While on the other hand, increasing number of older people is seen as a burden for economic activity. They tend to contribute less or in few case their contribution is almost zero. In developed nations, they are dependent upon government institutions to take care of them, while in developing and under developed nations, they act as a burden on their children. This causes the overall economic activity to slow down, as spending on different items is reduced and the funds are re-allocated towards covering medical and basic facilities.

In my opinion, it is very important to maintain a balance in population between older age and younger age. By maintaining a balance, governments and other institutions can focus easily on taking care of elderly people.Therefore, for any nation to prosper and grow economically, it is important to keep a balance between age demographics.