In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

People's life expectancy has increased in many societies, possibly because of improvements in technology and the increase in personal wealth. Although senior citizens can contribute extraordinarily to society, I would argue that this demographic change can bring about some problems.

One problem associated with an ageing population is that health care costs will escalate, imposing a burden on taxpayers. It is widely known that most medical needs and costs occur in the last years of life. Governments have to pour more money in caring for the elderly, but other essential services like education will be underfunded. The slow pace of work is another problem, as the number of senior workers increases. The ability to absorb information and complete work normally declines with age. If senior workers delay retirement, they may not perform as well as younger employees and this can influence companies' productivity and profitability.

On the other hand, many people will postpone retirement and extend their working life, and it is true that their experience and wisdom are a valuable asset to the whole society. People today can live healthier and longer, since they pay closer attention to healthy eating and sports. They can work as consultants and impart their knowledge and skills to the younger generation. For example, some senior managers can teach young people how to manage a company, and how to provide better services for clients.

In conclusion, the considerable extension of life expectancy has put strain on health care and made the workforce less productive. It will influence the economic development of a country, although we can make good use of senior workers' wisdom.