Some people think that children should obey rules or do what their parents and teachers want them to do. Other peole think that children controlled too much cannot deal with problems themselves in adulthood. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Children are expected to obey different rules either at home or at school. Strict discipline is sometimes important, but it would have an adverse impact on children's problem-solving abilities.

The main function of rules is to hold children accountable for their behaviour and to help them develop good behaviour patterns from a young age. Unlike adults, children are normally not aware of the consequences of bad behaviour, and setting rules can help them realise how to behave in a socially acceptable way. For example, children can learn how to great others, make polite requests and show table manners. Rules also forbid inappropriate behaviours, such as bullying, using profanity, cheating in exams and interrupting teachers during a lesson.

Sometimes rules may not have a positive influence on children, if those parents influence on children, if those parents who establish the strict rules give priority to children's obedience. Children will rely heavily on rules and may not be able to solve problems independently. If parents dictate what children should do every day, children may not know how to manage time independently and cope with the demands of work in the future. They are unlikely to achieve success in their careers.

Strict rules can stifle children's creativity and they are not able to solve problems in different ways. They dare not put their ideas into practice, since they are afraid of being punished if they disobey rules. If they are required to abide by strict rules in essay-writing, they will not know the outcome of expressing their ideas in other ways. The problems in the real world are complex and people cannot tackle these problems without using imagination.