In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Because of the improvements in technology, we run into an ageing society and people's life expectancy become longer than before. The demographic change shows that we all have some new lifestyle in future, even though there are many bad effects over there.

Governments should pour more money in old age pension and health care costs for the enormous amount of elderly population. It means that there are less funds for the other infrastructures like education and traffic. Young people, who represent the future, can not access to better education. Meanwhile, the ageing society imposes a burden on taxpayers. They should provide a part of fiscal revenues but meet the new problem about delaying retirement. Society can not receive many retired citizens so that governments promulgate new policy about postponed retirement. The policy has many disadvantages, which limits young people's careers and companies' productivity and profitability. As we all know, elderly people absorb new information slowly and can not use the hi-tech devices. Their slow pace of work can not create more wealth for companies and society. Specially, "empty nesters" and "shidu parents" are also needed public to take care. These kind of people need more welfare services.

Although there covers many bad influences, senior citizens also contribute extraordinarily to society. When they were young, they promote economic development hard. When they were old, their precious experiences are the valuable assets for society.

In conclusion, there are so many disadvantages about the ageing society. It limits economic development and let our life like chaos, even has made many contributions for our society.