In many countries the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Some think this is good, while others believe this is a problem for a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays there seem to be a gradual climb in the overall population of the aged in the society. This development has been attributed, by some observers, to be beneficial, while some others believe there would be drawbacks to the occurrence. In my opinion, the consequences of the incremental addition to the elderly in our communities will definitely bear some huge cost to the government, and eventually, citizens at large.

Overtime, as a specific country becomes prosperous and rich in standard of living it ultimately reflects in the mortality index. Therefore, indications that prolong life expectancy, directly linked to development of health care systems; good interpersonal relations; adequate security; improved government policies with regards to welfare, justice and rule of law are spot on. For instance, in Japan, the growing rate of aged people especially in provinces like Sardinia and Okinawa attests to the fact that good and relaxed environment coupled with peace of mind can prolong life. Also, these cities are not lacking in basic amenities needed to live well. Again, people feel this rise is essential to help keep values and connection with the young ones sustained. In the sense that, the older folks in a family releash the bonding with their grandchildren; which most likely, will involve instilling discipline and training melted out to the fragile and young ones.

On the other hand, there is the cause effect of the astronomical growth into old age on the coffers of the government and also in investment of time on its able citizens. To illustrate this: government would be left with no option than to increase expenditure on recurrent budget as it will involve judicious spending on pensions. After working for the nation, with their fruitful years, its expected of the authority to cater for them; give them monthly sums; provide health care systems to keep them alive. Also the burden will be extended to the youths as they will be drafted, voluntary or involuntary (if offered a paid job by the government) to see to the upkeep and sanity of their aged counterparts.

In summary, there will always be the grown up advanced in age amongst us; however, the way and manner in which this inevitable reality is managed can either be to the good of the host country; or obviously, can be onerous to the growth of the nation. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that, the government has a strong part to play and must be ready to securing the future of these aged ones as it will surely be cost demanding on the system.