In many countries, school-age children spend their free time doing homework. Is it a good or a bad thing? Give examples based on your own experience.

Having children doing their given homework all day long and ignoring their need for leisure time could have its drawbacks as well as its benefits. In fact, although providing them with some limited homework could help to keep them engaged more with their lessons, asking them to do lots of practice at home will prevent them from gaining and developing many other skills.

On the one hand, homework will help students to attain knowledge more profoundly. It will add to the learning time and give the learning process more time. In other words, the longer offspring are engaged with it, the deeper they learn it. For example, if a student who has been thought science in the morning at school continues it in the afternoon by homework at home, it is more likely that he gains more knowledge in this subject through doing homework. This will become even more vital when it comes to more strict lessons such as mathematic, physic, chemistry, and so on. Hence, the students cannot cut off their learning process only after they leave school.

However, leisure time has always been considered a must for all human beings, and children are no exception. If students are given a vast number of practices and homework, never would they be able to improve other skills ranging from arts to sports or so on. When I was in high school, I was always struggling with my school requirements for doing lots of homework and I have had a difficult time finding free moments for myself to develop my skill in playing Violin. So, I left my teen aging without learning what I liked to learn. This can drastically change one's life and make them upset for not following their dreams. Therefore, I tend to believe that a balance is needed for allocating free time and learning time to children.

To conclude, while keeping children busy more with their study program could result in more understanding of their syllabus, upsetting their school/life balance could have many other shortcomings.