In many countries small shops and town centres are going out of business, because people tend to drive to the large out-of-town stores. This results in an increase in car use, and it also means that people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores. Do you think advantages of such development outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, the shopping centres inside the cities in many nations are less crowded and on the verge of huge loss in their business, as the masses prefer shopping in the stores which are concentrated more on peripheries. Therefore, people who lack private vehicles may struggle to access the benefit of such out-of-town shopping facilities. This essay will delve into various positive and negative aspects as well as outputs of such recent paradigm shift and try to reach a conclusion after analysing manifold factors.

The major advantage of this scenario is likely to be the relief of traffic congestion inside the urban areas during the peak hours. Therefore, this resultantly leads to a significant reduction of noise and air pollution. Perhaps one of the other brighter sides of this is that the customers would not face any difficulty in finding car-parking space on such places, as these centres enshrines better infrastructure not only due to availability of ample space but the provision to attract more customers. For instance, these enterprises are likely to be equipped with various sorts of entertainment amenities, so that it serves as a perfect outing for families and bachelors.

One the other hand, the drawbacks related to this changes are noteworthy, which includes the deprivation of business in indigenous shops and additional expense for travelling. To elaborate, firstly, shortage of customers would adversely reflected in the net profit, which in turn worsen the situation with colossal amount of rent and maintenance expense. However, the extra travel expenditure could not be able to afford by the economically mediocre families, so that it may disrupt the balance of family budget.

In short, reduction in traffic congestion and environment pollution are likely the merits of this trend, while the demerit includes both the sellers are customers suffers additional financial burden. Therefore, I believe, the advantages are more significant because the drawbacks can be able to solve up to an extent.