In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular.

Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular?

What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime shows and crime fiction has gained enormous popularity among people worldwide. The main reason for this is a person's liking for action, drama and an intriguing plot. Another reason is that people can make themselves aware of the different tactics criminals use and take precautions beforehand. Although such novels and dramas are a source of entertainment, I feel that they negatively influence a person's behavior.

Firstly, people are always hungry for different entertainment sources that keeps them engaged, crime shows and novels are one such source. These often attract audience of all age groups as they consist of scenes where usually the hero fights all odds and kills the villains at the end. The plot and screenplay are set such that people can relate themselves to it and hence they often prefer watching crime shows or reading crime fiction. For example, Salman Khan, an Indian movie superstar always acts in action movies and all his movies are blockbusters in Bollywood. This shows the love people have especially for crime and action movies in India.

Secondly, crime shows and books are sometimes based on real stories. People often watch them so that they do not remain ignorant about the type of crimes being committed. Juvenile delinquency is also portrayed in such shows so parents can be more vigilant about their teenagers’ actions.

TV shows and books based on crime are undoubtedly preferred by masses over lovey-dovey shows and romantic novels. Nevertheless, I think that this negatively affects a person's behavior. Watching violence constantly over a period makes a person more aggressive, especially children. Kids usually try out the action scenes they watch on their younger siblings, which is potentially dangerous activity. Hence, I feel that Crime shows should be watched only occasionally and parents must supervise their children regarding such activities.

In conclusion, crime shows and books that consist of plunder, violence and murder stories attract masses due their content and screenplay. In addition, people gain information regarding criminals' tactics and keep themselves safe, However, this may also lead to anti-social and aggressive behavior among people.