Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some would argue that requesting personal information from job seekers is beneficial and important for organizations, while others differ in their view regarding the requirement of applicant’s personal details by the employer. While seeking such information from candidates helps to select the best fit for the role, I believe that this practice encourages discrimination.

On the one hand, when employers solicit personal information from applicants such as their marital status and hobbies, it gives them an opportunity to know the applicant better. This lets them decide whether the individual is a perfect choice for the vacancy. For instance, an individual who is an introvert and talking too much does not appeal to him is not fit for a customer Support executive role that requires extrovert personalities. However, I believe that this information is not crucial for employers as it may lead to undue discrimination during selection.

On the other hand, multinational corporations are subtly paving ways for favoritism during the shortlisting process. This is to say that when an interviewer finds out that the interviewee has similar hobbies as his own, it fosters more interest and eventually may lead to selection. For example, a panel member who loves cricket would be friendly to a potential hire who is a cricket fan and despise other applicant who is a fan of a sport other than cricket.

In conclusion, although seeking personal information such as hobbies, interest and marital status from potential hires helps to shortlist the best candidate, I believe that this is not a good practice as it encourages being biased towards the job applicants. It is recommended that the organization should focus on job related skills of the potential hires rather than their personal information.