In many countries, women and men are working full-time. It is therefore, logical for women and men to share household tasks. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today women are sharing roles that were earlier associated with men of the house only. As more and more women join the workforce, it has become imperative for men to share household responsibilities with the lady of the house. I strongly agree with the above statement and this essay will further elucidate on the reasons; followed by a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, with changing times the role of a woman has seen a significant transition as more and more women are coming out to work. These women who were earlier referred to as weaker sections are driving the household budget and income. But what makes their achievement more fascinating is there struggle to juggle between home and office. This constant pressure from both fronts i.e. home and office often takes a toll on their health, as the number of women who suffer from heart-related diseases and depression has increased manifold in recent years. Moreover, in developing countries around the world, these young girls are putting up a brave fight against stereotypes where the role of women is confined to the walls of the house.

Handling this social and family pressure requires support from within, and here is when men can extend a helping hand. When women have started to embark on their career path, its prudent for men to make their journey smooth and less stressful. Moreover, recent studies have proved that couples who share household responsibilities are less likely to get divorced. As in recent years, the number of family breakdowns has risen due to disputes related to sharing responsibilities. This new family setup requires both genders to be sensitive to each others needs. When men and women start sharing household chores, they set an example of an egalitarian society and epitomize this in front of their kids.

To conclude, men and women both should work for women empowerment and this requires support. Men should rise above gender stereotypes and help the lady of their house to keep the house in order. These small gestures not only provide emotional support but also cement the bond.