In many countries, young people move to cities leaving their homes in rural areas for work or study.

i-What do you think are the reasons for it?

ii- Do you think advantages for moving to cities outweigh the disadvantages.

Countries around the world are now faced with a situation whereby young people living in rural areas leave their homes to the city for work or study. In my opinion, I think this is more beneficial compared to any problem it might bring.

Despite the drawbacks below, I believe the experience and other benefits to be acquired by young people are extremely useful for their future. Firstly, the youth get to enjoy quality education with better facilities than in the rural areas and also good employment opportunities, which result to better living standards of the young people. Secondly, when young people live separately from their family, they learn how to become self-reliant and make decisions independently as most of their tasks are carried out by their parents. Moreover, when they live far away they learn well on time management, doing of house chores, paying of bills and so on. Also, it helps them to value money and cultivate the habit of saving which is a good quality that would be useful in adulthood. In addition, they would make new friends and learn about diverse customs and cultures.

On the other hand, despite the advantages above, the negative consequences of this trend should also be considered. One potentially dangerous problem is that when they live alone in the city they sometimes feel homesick due to the various responsibilities they have to take. This perhaps leads them to feel isolated especially in the first few months after moving and if they do not find a way to get rid of that it can lead to depression. In addition, they are often not mature enough to avoid making friends with people who might influence them negatively and teach them bad habits such as, smoking, drug abuse and other criminal activities. Thus, such habits would definitely affect them in their place of work or study.

In conclusion, the benefits of living independently and make decisions by themselves will be beneficial for them as adults and these clearly outweigh any disadvantages.