Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Although it is widely believed that studying a foreign language at first year of school is more effective than in secondary school for children. In my opinion, I think learning a second language at the early years has more benefits compared to any problem it might bring.

Despite the drawbacks below, I believe the benefits gained by children who have the ability to be able to communicate effortlessly with many different languages are extremely useful for their future. Firstly, learning a second language at a young age is easier to understand and it also requires less time than learning at adolescence. Children could pick up pronunciations more easily as they learn sub-consciously. Secondly, teaching them a different language has a positive impact on their personality as it broadens their horizon and improves their social skills in interacting with people from other countries. Moreover, it exposes them to a wide range of cultures, lifestyle and traditions of another country. Finally, in the future, they will gain from being able to communicate in a second language in their studies and work career especially nowadays where public organisations and multinational companies such as airports, Embassy and Telecommunications prefer to have employees who are bilingual working for them.

Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, children could face some setbacks from learning another language at primary school instead of secondary. One of such problem, is that it could affect their ability to learn their mother’s tongue properly due to learning many languages with different dictions and grammar at the same time. Another negative aspect, it is regarded a waste of time when their study time could be spent on core subjects namely mathematics, science etc. Finally, due to the number of subjects taught in school learning different lingua franca makes the workload extremely much for such young children which are paid for with their fun time.

In conclusion, considering the easy in learning and the benefits in adulthood for children who learn a foreign language in early years far outweighs any minor problem it could have.